(Possible Scam) Up to 30% off Weber on https://www.barbecuechef.com.au/ - Does anyone know if this site is legit?

Moved to Forum: Original Link

Up to 30% off Weber on https://www.barbecuechef.com.au/

Does anyone know if this site is legit?

Seems too good to be true. Some red flags are;

  • Never seen Weber discounted so much, it does say Black Friday though.

  • 5% discount if you pay via Bank Transfer??

  • 3% surcharge if paid by CC


Related Stores



  • +7 votes

    if you have to ask, the answer is usually no

    • +6 votes

      no ABN, no postal/business address….

      and the only hit on google, apart from it… is this post :/

      • Clearly delivering BBQ to Australians since 2005 :'(

        • ABN details help
          Entity name: HARDING, LEONARD CECIL
          ABN status: Active from 18 Jun 2017
          Entity type: Individual/Sole Trader
          Goods & Services Tax (GST): Registered from 21 Jun 2017
          Main business location:
          NSW 2765
          Business name(s) help
          Business name From
          THE BUTCHER AND CHEF BARBECUE-SPIT-ROAST-CO External site 21 Jun 2017
          ABN last updated: 29 Aug 2017

  • Scam site mate, type the web address into Facebook and you'll see what I mean.

  • Looks like another scam. See here for a previous post https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/252652

  • The privacy policy is super dodgy - would avoid.

    Deep discounting Weber BBQs is a known scam https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/i-ve-be...

  • Don't post a deal if you are not sure it's legit.

  • Yep sounds dodgy

  • The incentive to pay by bank transfer is so you do it that way and then hard to get your money back.

  • Extra discount paying by means which are harder to get back? No thanks. Scam.

  • WHOIS Data:
    Registrant Contact Name: alexa johnson
    Registrant Contact Email: [email protected]
    Tech Contact ID: tutG3ajFlPWxN7AN
    Tech Contact Name: Data Protected Data Protected
    Tech Contact Email: [email protected]
    DNSSEC: unsigned
    Registrant ID: ABN 38348719662
    Eligibility Type: Sole Trader
    Eligibility Name: HARDING, LEONARD CECIL
    Eligibility ID: ABN 38348719662

    ABN seems to align with the business purpose - however would still stay away as its not listed on their website, and the business address on ASIC is no where near Gladesville:

    • The address is a vacant block in the middle of the bush. Where is he hiding the millions of dollars of bbq inventory? Haha

    • Anyone can register a domain specifying any ABN/ACN - there are no validation checks done.

  • Weber have 2 ranges, one sold through most retailer , and a DEALER only range. The dealer only range has higher lid and thermometer on the Q range, thsey show some on their web site. I have never seen those discounted on site, you need to do a face-to-face in the store, Weber are strict on this to ensure that DEALERS don't start a race to the bottom ….hence you need to be a DEALER (stock stuff you don't want) not just RESELLER (just stock the movers) to get those.

  • I got done trying to buy a Weber off a site like this. $250 gone. Normally always use PayPal too.

  • As someone who has 3-4 years experience in a shop which specialising in barbeque sales, webbers have very minimal margins, at most 39%(average 30% or less depending on buying power and specific) making this very dodgy in my professional oppinion.

    • This is the comment to remember ^^^

      Weber is almost like Apple. Very rare to see a discount. If you do see a discount it's usually offered by a major retailer and the discount itself is rather small.

      It sucks paying large amounts but Weber's gear and after sale support is premium.

  • Site looks like it was made by a 12 year old for a school project

    Edit: looks like I offended Cecil haha

  • Admin remove this incase someone buys without reading comments, bbq scam site

    • +6 votes

      Admin leave it so when people search for this site then the search comes up with this scam and warning people of www.barbecuechef.com.au being a scam

    • Is this for real, are you the scammer ? The more information on scams the more informed people can be, and the less chance they will get stung, not the other way around.

      • Sorry I should have re worded it, deal was first on front page, I meant to remove it from that not the forums

        • If you catch something like this in future, use the "Report" link under the deal's description to make alarms wail and lights flash at the mod's secret bargain cave.

  • Thanks all

  • Scam

  • +4 votes

    if you try to buy a BBQ from these guys then you will get burnt

  • Hi,if you received by email if you have a second email account I send them an email from that account asking them "who are you" and if they answer you it is normally legit,if you receive a message that your email could not be deliver it means the email address is no longer registered it is a scam

  • Barbecue Chef website is still active. Still advertising heavily discounted high end BBQs. Please be aware, this is a scam!


    These sites have been around for years all under various domains..

    If you must know, Weber only has 28% margin in the products. So if the discount is even 20% off Weber premium products you know it's a scam.