[Scam] Transferring Cars Interstate

Hi everyone,

So, I’m looking to purchase a car and I found one that fits my budget. The only issue is that the owner and car is in WA and I’m from QLD. The number plate is from QLD. The guy said that he’s from the military and was deployed to WA, he needs to sell his car asap because he’s going overseas. He’s willing to have the car shipped to my place so that I can bring it to a mechanic and have it checked out. He recommended that we use http://www.transfer-guide.com/faqs.php to deal with the transaction.

I was wondering if anyone can verify the legitimacy of this website and also the pros and cons of using this to transfer. He said that they will do the paperwork, so I just need to send the money through to this website and it won’t be in his account, until I give the okay.

Cheers everyone.


Here’s the website. I was hella sus about this whole ordeal, so shout out to everyone who helped me

Related Stores



  • +2 votes

    I've got a beautiful bridge in Sydney for sale really cheap, I'm an oceanography away on a job at the moment, you'll have to transfer the money to me via MoneyGram.


    Sounds like the reverse scam! The one where the guy in the military is overseas and wants to buy your car sight unseen for full price and he’ll send an agent to pick it up

    Sorry, no help otherwise.


    That is the oldest scam going!!

  • +10 votes

    Fits budget, but prepared to pay $1500 or so in transport…? You sure it fits your budget?

    I'm guessing you've done a PPSR, arranged for an RAC inspection etc?

    That site is US based, no ABN, has no contact phone number if things go south, etc etc.

    This site is part of the scam I reckon


    For the first two transactions made through our website you have only Western Union as payment option.

    Lol seriously?

  • +1 vote

    Thanks for reporting the scam.

    Here's some more background to the same person's scam: https://myshenanigans.home.blog/2019/06/13/private-car-sales...

    • +1 vote

      Hot tip:
      If there is a car that is cheaper than others, the seller gives you their entire life story, is on the other side of the country, and wants you to pay for it via a weird payment system, it's a scam.

      People don't mention their occupation, what they are doing in a month's time in detail etc when someone enquires about a car.

      Even the grammatical errors in the letter from that guy should tell you that the person who wrote it has English as a second language.

  • +3 votes

    First thing to do is to check the records for the domain name


    Created 21 sep 2019


    Domain name: transfer-guide.com
    Registry Domain ID: 2435651595_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
    Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.namecheap.com
    Registrar URL: http://www.namecheap.com
    Updated Date: 0001-01-01T00:00:00.00Z
    Creation Date: 2019-09-21T13:17:55.00Z
    Registrar Registration Expiration Date: 2020-09-21T13:17:55.00Z
    Registrar: NAMECHEAP INC
    Registrar IANA ID: 1068
    Registrar Abuse Contact Email: email@namecheap.com
    Registrar Abuse Contact Phone: +1.6613102107
    Reseller: NAMECHEAP INC
    Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited https://icann.org/epp#clientTransferProhibited
    Registry Registrant ID:
    Registrant Name: WhoisGuard Protected
    Registrant Organization: WhoisGuard, Inc.
    Registrant Street: P.O. Box 0823-03411
    Registrant City: Panama
    Registrant State/Province: Panama
    Registrant Postal Code:
    Registrant Country: PA
    Registrant Phone: +507.8365503
    Registrant Phone Ext:
    Registrant Fax: +51.17057182
    Registrant Fax Ext:
    Registrant Email: email@whoisguard.com
    Registry Admin ID:
    Admin Name: WhoisGuard Protected
    Admin Organization: WhoisGuard, Inc.
    Admin Street: P.O. Box 0823-03411
    Admin City: Panama
    Admin State/Province: Panama
    Admin Postal Code:
    Admin Country: PA
    Admin Phone: +507.8365503
    Admin Phone Ext:
    Admin Fax: +51.17057182
    Admin Fax Ext:
    Admin Email: email@whoisguard.com
    Registry Tech ID:
    Tech Name: WhoisGuard Protected
    Tech Organization: WhoisGuard, Inc.
    Tech Street: P.O. Box 0823-03411
    Tech City: Panama
    Tech State/Province: Panama
    Tech Postal Code:
    Tech Country: PA
    Tech Phone: +507.8365503
    Tech Phone Ext:
    Tech Fax: +51.17057182
    Tech Fax Ext:
    Tech Email: email@whoisguard.com
    Name Server: dns1.warez-host.com
    Name Server: dns2.warez-host.com
    DNSSEC: unsigned
    URL of the ICANN WHOIS Data Problem Reporting System: http://wdprs.internic.net/

    Last update of WHOIS database: 2019-10-17T20:22:50.59Z <<<

    • +1 vote

      Thank you so much!!! Saved me heaps of money

    • +1 vote

      Name Server: dns1.warez-host.com
      Name Server: dns2.warez-host.com

      Let's save money by using one VPS to host all our scam sites… Oh wait…

  • +7 votes

    so I just need to send the money through to this website and it won’t be in his account

    The key here is that it won't be in your account.


    Looks like somebody got caught


  • +1 vote

    He’s willing to have the car shipped to my place so that I can bring it to a mechanic and have it checked out.

    And this didn’t ring alarm bells? He is happy to just ship it to you so you can check it out?

    I’m surprised that he wasn’t an offshore oil rig worker…


    Another fun fact about the website is the staff page. The “owner” is listed at Joseph Hoffmann, yet the photo file name is jamescook.jpg. Also did a reverse lookup image search on Tineye and it comes up as “Steve Tate” from a plumbing supply company in the UK.


    Have used CEVA few times over the years inc 2 in 2019 inc 1 forme and 1 for daughter, best price came Bris. to Cairns 3 days, other Syd. to Cairns 5 days, have no association wth company.


    Possible names (for Google searches):

    • Transfer Guide
    • Auto Guide Solutions
    • Car Guide Solutions

    All the same scammer

  • +2 votes

    dont cut ties with him just yet, have a bit of fun and waste his time.

  • Top