• expired

[VIC] Closing down: 50% off Pet Leashes, 30% off Pet Bedding, 30% off Pet Food & More in-Store @ Paws Express, Moonee Ponds

720

Hi all,

After being in operations for 6.5 years, my company, Paws Express has unfortunately been forced to close its doors. We've been given notice by centre management that de-fitting of our store will be in June, so we must clear out all stock by then.

Therefore, we are running big sales on all our stock! Currently, the following discounts are available in-store:

  • all collars/leash/harness 50% off when purchasing two or more
  • all bedding 30% off
  • cat scratching posts 20% off
  • all dog/cat jackets 20% off
  • all grooming products 20% off
  • all flea & worming 10% off
  • food up to 30% off

Let the counter know you are from OzBargain for a free dog toy!

First in, best dressed! We won't be ordering any additional stock so get in quickly for the best deals!

In addition, all shop fittings and fixtures are also for sale, please PM me directly if you're looking to purchase any and I'll let you know how much I can let them go for.

Please note, unfortunately, we are unable to ship anything due to our current circumstances.

Feel free to come in, have a look and potentially help us out with clearing stock. Your support would be greatly appreciated.

Our store location is:

Shop 15 (diagonally opposite Coles)
Moonee Ponds Central
18-20 Homer St
Moonee Ponds, VIC 3039

Operating Hours:
Monday 9am - 6pm
Tuesday 9am - 6pm
Wednesday 9am - 6pm
Thursday 9am - 6pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday 9pm - 5pm
Sunday 10am - 5pm

Related Stores

Paws Express
Paws Express

closed Comments

  • +9 votes

    Really sad to hear. Hoping for your success in future endeavour.

    • +27 votes

      Thank you for the kind words!

      It's been one hell of a ride, I've learnt a lot from running the business from incorporation all the way to operating a business so it's been a good learning process for me.

      Just that due to unfortunate circumstances beyond our control (mostly from centre management, potentially catalysed from COVID-19), we had to close, but I guess it's also a good opportunity for all of us here at Paws Express to try something new :)

  • +1 vote

    Do you guys have stock of Hills Prescription Diet i/d Low Fat Digestive Care Canned Dog Food?

    Due to the lockdown, might not be able to get there any time soon though.

    • +14 votes

      Hi there, unfortunately, we don't have this particular product because due to laws, we're unable to stock prescription foods without a veterinarian on-site. Sorry I couldn't have been any better help!

  • +8 votes

    So sorry to hear a local business is closing. …Wishing the owners and employees every success in the future.

    Worst part is you have stellar reviews on google so the customers you had saw your point of difference, but there just wasn't enough of them.

    • +17 votes

      Thank you for the kind words of support!

      Our business has gone through a lot of stages — we originally started off as an online-only pet store but due to competitiveness, we chose to open a brick and mortar store. We found that the only way for us to compete with other, bigger stores, such as Petstock and Petbarn was to put all our focus on customer service, and hence, we pride ourselves on providing the best advice and service to anyone that comes into the store :)

      • +2 votes

        Really love your service and competitive prices, have been a long-time customer! Will you still be continuing with the online store?

        • +4 votes

          Unfortunately, our online store had taken a dive since probably 2020 or so, and the reason is that our margins are so thin that it didn't make sense to operate our online store.

          For those that are interested in running an online store — take these points as my learnings (obviously everyone's experience would be different though):

          • Courier management/shipping within Australia is ridiculously expensive; every online shop online that has "free shipping" has somehow calculated it into the cost of their products, so if you're operating extremely thin margins, you'll struggle quite a bit.
          • Advertising online is even more expensive! The market online is literally driven by Google AdWords, and I'm certain Google themselves know that. It's a powerful tool for bringing in customers, but your customer acquisition cost will be high, so you'll have to work out how to retain those converted customers. Most of the time, you'll be losing money for every converted customer from AdWords, so you have to make the most of it.
          • Which then takes me to the third point, online sales is literally like a warzone. The reason I say that is because the face-to-face interaction with a salesperson (who could give you advice or suggestions, and what we pride ourselves on) does not exist anymore. People are constantly just surfing the internet to find the cheapest price of a certain product that they're after, and hence, the only real way to survive is high volume and low margins. At a certain point of time, we were even doing a price war (ie. price matching against other stores) with a certain competitor which I won't mention and we ended up having to even write some code to constantly monitor their prices to even have a competitive advantage (similar to what Amazon does).

          There's probably a few more things I've learnt from operating online vs having a retail store, but, that'll be way past the depth of this post haha, maybe I should do an AMA :)

          But again, it's people like you that have really help us survive through these years. The team and I, wholeheartedly thank you for your continued support through these years!

  • +1 vote

    Would you have any ezydog leashes and harnesses

    • +1 vote

      Interested too.

      • +2 votes

        Hi there, thanks for the interest, I just answered below :)

        But yes, we have EzyDog collars, leashes and harnesses on sale!

    • +3 votes

      Hi there!

      Yep we have stock of Ezydog leash, collars and harnesses. 20% off if you purchase 1 item, 50% off if you purchase 2 or more!

      •  

        Can you give an example of price (not %) just to give clarity on say, Ezydog leash?

        • +5 votes

          Yeah sure thing! We are selling an Ezydog leash in-store for $18 before the sale, so if you purchase one, it will be 20% off at $14.40, and if you purchase more than 1, it'll be 50% off so $9 :)

          If you let me know the specific product you're after, I'll be able to give you a better idea on pricing!

  • +2 votes

    Sorry to hear a local business is closing down! Do you have any puppy suitable toys or food?

    • +3 votes

      Hi there! It’s unfortunate we are closing but it might also be the start of a new chapter for us :)

      Yes! We have many toys and variety of foods for puppies! We’ll even throw in a free toy for your puppy with your food purchase! Just let us know you’re from OzBargain at the counter and we’d love to help you out with your product selections!

  • +3 votes

    Sad to see local stores close. I used to live around the area a few years back and used to play with your Golden Retriever. Good luck for the future!

    • +3 votes

      Haha! Yes, that's pretty much our store's mascot, Boss :)

      Thank you for supporting our store previously and for the kind words!

  • +1 vote

    It is sad when small independents close. Many are given the choice to either become a franchisee or become a neighbour to one. Maybe not what happened here but still sad to see. Good luck to all in the future.

    • +5 votes

      To be honest, we didn't want to close but apparently, it's not in the interest of the centre management to keep us as a store, unfortunately.

      However, we'll take this as an opportunity to start something new. Thank you for the kind words!

      • +3 votes

        What a bizarre reason for CM, you'd reckon they want a variety of shops, instead of yet another nail salon/massage money laundering shop?

        • +1 vote

          Haha, without delving too deep into the situation, they pretty much told us that they "want a bigger brand".

          If you're unaware, I believe CM has spent a lot of money recently on making the shopping centre into a flagship-style centre, so given our current position which is almost literally, right next to Coles, it makes sense they would want us out for someone that can make them a lot more ROI.

          As a businessman/owner myself, I fully understand their position, and plus, it's been a long enough journey that maybe it's time to try something new :)

  • +6 votes

    When one door closes, another opens. I wish you all the best in your new endeavor. Love from NSW.

    • +4 votes

      Thank you for the kind words and the support!

  • +2 votes

    Best to you!

    • +1 vote

      Thank you!

  • +1 vote

    Any Wellness core wet/dry cat food or Feline Natural wet cat food? Price?

    • +2 votes

      Hi there, we don’t stock Wellness Core products and for Feline Natural, we only have dry food left in stock. Sorry we couldn’t be of any help!

  • +1 vote

    Hi… Like others I'm sad to hear that a local business in closing down… I personally grew up around Ascot Vale, Moonee Ponds area.

    Do you have Royal Canin dry food in stock ???
    Also due to Covid restrictions at this time here in Victoria when are you actually open at this time ???

    Good luck on your next endeavours

    • +2 votes

      Thank you so much for the kind words!

      Yes we have Royal Canin dry food in-stock. Are you after a specific product?

      We are actually still operating right now during the lockdown because pet supplies businesses are considered essential :)

      • +1 vote

        I'm after the Joint Care Maxi if you have that in stock

        • +1 vote

          I just checked our stock and unfortunately we don’t have anymore in stock, sorry about that!

  • +2 votes

    I remember you when you were running your business on the top level of your dad's /FIL bathroom warehouse in Braybrook. Sorry to see you go but all the best!

    • +2 votes

      Ah yes! Back then we were still operating as an online-only pet store too! You could imagine how happy we all were when we had our first order come through online. Our COO was ecstatic!

      Thank you for your support over the years!

  • +1 vote

    Are you going to sell anything online. I'm buying a ute and want a leash that runs between the edges of the tray bit keeps my EP in the middle. Also interested in the Ezydog Drive Car Harness.

    • +2 votes

      Hi! Sorry to tell you but we are unable to ship anything due to our contracts with couriers being ceased. If you’re interested in some products and can get in-store sometime, let me know which product and I can see what the team can do for you?

      • +1 vote

        Thanks for getting back to me

  • +1 vote

    Sorry to hear you're closing - can you please let me know if you have Royal Canin British Shorthair in stock? 4kg bag if possible, and how much? Thanks!

    • +2 votes

      Hi there, yep, we have 2 bags of Royal Canin British Shorthair 4kgs left at 20% off. Price is $56 each after the discount. Thanks!

      • +1 vote

        Great, thank you!

  • +1 vote

    Do you have many cat products left? eg. toys, bedding, grooming etc

    • +3 votes

      Hi there, I’d say that we have some cat products left, mostly toys and bedding (currently 50% off so roughly $35 each). We don’t have much grooming left though. If you live around the area, come and have a look or just say hi!

      •  

        Definitely will!

  •  

    do you have cat harness and retractable leash from 3m and above similar like flexi leash?

    • +1 vote

      Hello! We have cat harnesses but only one of the Flexi New Classic Large retractable leash left, which I don't think would work very well on your cat haha :)

      We have a cat harness that comes with a 1.2m leash though.

      Sorry I couldn't have given any better news!

  •  

    Sad to see local shops closing, best luck in the future man.
    Do you have ZIWI dry food?

    •  

      Hi there! Sorry for the late reply and thanks for the kind words!

      We've sold out of all our Ziwipeak range, unfortunately. Sorry about that!

  •  

    Have you got any Royal Canin wet mini puppy food pouches left?

    •  

      Hi there, thanks for your interest, but we've effectively closed down since about 2 weeks ago.